Skip to main content


Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar

Genesis of IOP Alumni Association

On the 29th of June 1981, the then scholars and some of the ex-scholars of the Institute of Physics met in the premises of the Doctoral Wing, to express a common feeling, that the scholars during their stay at the Institute, developed a keen sense of involvement with the various facets of the Institute's growth. And hence it was a matter of pride and pleasure for both, the scholar who has left the Institute on completion of his tenure and the Institute, to remember each other through a close tie. So through a general consensus it was resolved that an association of the outgoing scholars would be formed and named "ALUMNI ASSOCIATION" Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar.

As a guideline to its membership, it was decided that any scholar having spent one year i.e; having passed his Predoctoral course from the Institute would be eligible as a member with a life membership fee. The members of the faculty and post-doctoral scholars would be eligible as Invited members of the Association. Dr. B. C. Mishra, Dr. L. Maharana, Dr. R. C. Nayak, and Dr. A.R. Panda were unanimously elected as members of the first executive committee of the newly formed association with Dr. P. C. Naik as it's convener-cum-treasurer.