WIB2015

Workshop on the Use of Low Energy Ion Beams

November 7 - 9, 2015

Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar, India

About WIB2015 (WIB@IOPB)

The main aim of the "Workshop on the Use of Low Energy Ion Beams" is to provide a platform for scientists and research students working in the area of low energy ion beams to come together and discuss various issues of Ion Beams (energy up to 10.0 MeV). The 3-day conference will consist of keynote speakers, invited, contributed talks and poster sessions. The is organized as a part of "Celebration of 40th Year of Academic Activities of Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar, India" during **November 7-9, 2015** (Saturday, Sunday and Monday) at Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar.

TOPICS OF INTEREST

- a. Fundamentals of ion-solid interactions: Modification and Damage of Materials and In-situ study of ion beam induced effects with TEM, XRD and Raman techniques.
- Applications of Ion Beam Analysis (IBA): Surface and Interfaces of thin films; Nuclear Technology Materials; Environmental Science; Geophysics: Earth and Planetary Sciences; Biology and Medicine; Trace Element Analysis; Radiation Biology; Art and Archaeometry
- c. Electron Microscopy and Radiation damage study
- d. Particle Induced X-ray Emission: Micro/Macro Beam PIXE and applications
- e. Accelerator Mass Spectrometry and applications
- f. Complementary use of IBA and other techniques of analysis
- g. New Developments in Ion Scattering methods, μ beam, and AMS

REGISTRATION AND ABSTRACT SUBMISSION

Registration can be made on website for participation in the workshop using the website link

http://www.iopb.res.in/wib2015/index.php.

Registration fees can be paid on the registration table. A short abstract of maximum one page in MSWORD file for oral or/and poster presentation should be submitted through web page by October 20, 2015. The abstracts accepted for presentation will be intimated to the authors by October 22, 2015.

REGISTRATION FEE*

Faculty/Scientists: ₹ 2000/=;

Students, Postdoctoral fellows, etc: ₹ 1000/=

Company Staff: ₹ 25.000/=

*Accommodation charges are not included in the registration.

Financial assistance: A few selected students not having any source of funding maybe considered for partial travel assistance (upto 2SL including tatkal charges). Such request should reach us by 20 Oct 2015.

PARTIAL LIST OF INVITED SPEAKEERS

Prof. V. S. Ramamurthy, Emeritus Professor, NIAS, Bangalore

Dr.D.Kanjlal IUAC, New Delhi
Dr. A. K. Sinha UGC-DAE-CSR, Indore
Prof. S. Donnelly University of Huddersfield, UK

Prof. B. N. Dev IACS, Kolkata
Dr. M. Vijaya Lakshmi, IGCAR, Kalpakkam
Dr. B. K. Panigrahi IGCAR, Kaplakkam

Prof. D. C. Kothari Mumbai University, Mumbai

Dr. D. K. Avasthi IUAC, NewDelhi

Prof. P. K. Bajpai
Dr. M. Sudarshan
Prof. B. Rout
UGC-DAE-CSR, Kolkata
University of North Texas, Denton
Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar
Prof. T. Som
UGC-DAE-CSR, Kolkata
University of North Texas, Denton
Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar

Prof.S antanu Ghosh IITD, Delhi

Dr. B. Sundaravel IGCAR, Kaplakkam Dr. A. Pandian IGCAR, Kalpakkam

Prof.S. Bhattacharjee IIT Kanpur

Dr.S. Mahapatra Indraprastha University, Delhi Kurushetra University, Kurukshetra

Dr. Pratap K. Sahoo
Prof. Nageswara Rao
Dr. Rahul Singhal
Dr. R. Acharya
Dr. A. Chakrabotty
UGC DAE CSP Koll

Dr. A. Chakraborty, UGC-DAE-CSR, Kolkata Dr. J. B. Krishna UGC-DAE-CSR, Kolkata

Dr. P. Karmakar
Prof. P. V. Satyam
Prof. L. Tribedi
Dr. Pranesh Sengupta
Dr. P. Santhanaraman
Dr. K. G.M.Nair
Dr. G. K. Dey
UCCC, Kolkata
IOPB, Bhubaneswar
IIFR, Mumbai
DRRC, Mumbai
DRRC, Mumbai
DRRC, Mumbai
DRRC, Mumbai

Prof. A. Goswami Prof. B. R. Sekhar * IOP, Bhubaneswar IOR. S. Chopra* IUAC, New Delhi Prof. M. Garg* PU, Chandigarh

* To be confirmed ACCOMODATION

Accommodation can be arranged on request, which must reach the convener on or before October 20, 2015. The approximate charges are Rs.1000 to Rs.2500 per day on sharing basis in nearby hotels (Corporate rates may be available for the hotels: Ginger, Sandys Tower and Swosti Premium). The accommodation charges need to be paid by speakers. A very limited accommodation is available in our guest house and this would be allotted on first cum first basis.

NATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

- 1. Dr. Sekhar Basu, Director, BARC
- 2. Prof. S. Panda, Director, IOP
- 3. Prof. A. K. Mohanty, Director, SINP
- 4. Dr. D. Kanjilal, Director, IUAC
- 5. Dr. G. K. Dey, BARC, Mumbai
- 6. Dr. A. K. Sinha, Director, UGC-DAE-CSR, Indore
- 7. Dr. D. K. Avasthi, IUAC
- 8. Prof. B. N. Dev, IACS, Kolkata
- 9. Dr. B. K. Panigrahi, IGCAR, Kalpakkam

NATIONAL ORGANISING COMMITTEE

- 1. Prof. P. V. Satyam, IOP, Chairman
- 2. Prof. S. Varma, IOP
- Prof. B. R. Sekhar, IOP
- 4. Prof. T. Som, IOP
- 5. Prof. D. Topwal, IOP
- 6. Prof. L. Tribedi, TIFR
- Dr.Pranesh Sengupta, BARC
 Dr. P. K. Sahoo, NISER
- 9. Dr. M. Sudarshan, UGC-DAE-CSR, Kolkata

LOCAL ORGANISING COMMITTEE

- 1. Prof. P. V. Satyam, IOP, Chairman
- 2. Mr. A. K. Behera, IOP
- 3. Mr. R. K. Nayak, IOP (Accounts Officer)
- 4. Dr. S. N. Sarangi, IOP (Secretary)

ADDRESS FOR COMMUNICATION

Prof. P. V. Satyam (Chairman, WIB2015) Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar - 751005, India Email: iopaf@iopb.res.in;<u>wibatiopb@gmail.com</u> http://www.iopb.res.in/wib2015/index.php